A look at my
Family, Friends and
Outside Interests.

Family, Friends and Outside Interests

Family & Friends

My family is very important to me as they are my bedrock. My wife Deborah is in the Senior Civil Service. I have two children (born in 1993 and in 1999). Their happiness, education and welfare are amongst my highest priorities.

I have a small but highly selected circle of good friends, on whom I depend for help and advice freely passed on with irreverence.

Outside Interests

My greatest passion is for classical music, especially piano music, from the period 1750 - 1950. I am lucky to have heard many great pianists in live performances over the last 30 years.

I am keen to play sport - (still) playing squash semi-regularly, and I also try to run, and to go to the gym, when I can. I am very interested in taking and processing digital photographs (a small selection of images is shown on this page), in Victorian and Edwardian architecture, and in the people, customs, food and music of three regions of the world - Scandinavia, the Middle East, and South America. I am fortunate to be able to travel to these regions, and to many other places in the world.

I also have a keen interest in, and knowledge, of malt whisky production (Scotch naturally, but also many other New World whiskies, bourbons, and the like) and I have toured many distilleries in Scotland, Japan, Switzerland, Australia, Denmark and Sweden.

I am slowly trying to complete some NON-medical writing projects, including a pictorial and narrative history of the Bridges over the River Thames.